Licensing for a binary application in Rust

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner in rust and the way I learn a language is by building small applications in it. I have just been able to design a project that I believe is going to be useful to me once built and useful in learning the language itself.

I am a little apprehensive about using my default option of using the GPLv3 License.

Why you ask?

Well, in my travels on the interwebs, I know that they site to go for these decisions is https://choosealicense.com/. That website suggests that I should stick to the preferred license for the community. In this case, the rust community prefers to dual-license under MIT and Apache-2.0. When I look around, there is an intense debate that usually centers around commerrcializability.

My ultimate question is this: Should I go for GNU General Public License v3 (GPLv3) or use the Community default of MIT/Apache 2.0.

The application I'm building is an API Client for a super specific set of biological database. I do not run that database, but I am allowed to use the data. I would really like to be able to distribute my binary and I don't have any intention to monetize this project. it's largely a convenience for me. However,
i do intend to go into my domain's industry and possibly build things similar to this.

Thank you all fort listening.

For a binary, the primary difference with the GPL is that if anyone modifies your code and distributes those changes, they must keep the new work under the GPL. Whether or not this is a good or bad thing depends on personal preference.