Learning roadmap

Hi, I am going to start learning rust. I am an prospective cloud engineer. I have read about the scope of rust in cloud computing. Aws's firecracker VMM has bern built using rust. My questions is how to learn rust to get hands dirty in cloud computing or which framework should i learn after learning rust basic for cloud computing? There is a roadmap for rust in github but that is for web development. I am not a web guy as I dont even know how write HTML code. But I am pretty much proficient in python. So, please share your valuable thoughts about my condition and choice. Thank you!

1 Like

Hello there!

Fist thing first, have you had time to go through The Rust Book? That's probably the best place to start since you mentioned you haven't stated learning Rust yet.

Once you have the basics of Rust under your belt, the rest should be easier to find.

4 Likes

The best way I know to start learning something is to pick a project, something that interests you and you will be motivated to work on, and start working!

For whatever project you pick, you may want to look into learning resources for that. For instance, if you want a multi-threaded web server, you will want to learn how to use channels threads in Rust, and The Book, can be a good place to start.

So, what do you want to work on? "Cloud Computing" is a little too broad for me to give pointers on what to look into. If you make a cloud computing app/module/whatever you want to call it, what would it do?

Also, whatever you pick, come to the forum with questions! The community here is amazing and really beginner friendly so don't hesitate. I'm very experienced with Rust, but even when I have problems I'm often surprised at how many meaningful answer and different perspectives I get on even what seem simple questions sometimes.

Also a few general resources for getting started learning Rust, if you haven't seen it already:

2 Likes

I sort of agree in general.