Issue with needing to have both mutable and immutable borrrow at same time

I'm kind of new to Rust.

I have a struct and an implementation of this struct.
one of the members of the struct is a stdout_writer it's Rc<Option<RefCell<SomeNonCopyableStruct>>>
In one of the functions let's call it write I need to perform the following:

while self.writer.as_ref().unwrap().as_ref().borrow_mut().status().is_somethig() { 
    // The while performs an immutable borrow of self.
    if self.execution().is_done() == 0 {  // mutable borrow of self
         ///do something
    }
}

My issue is that on the one hand, I need to do the while, which makes the immutable borrow to self, on the other hand, I need to do the execution which needs a mutable borrow.
So I'm quite stuck here since.

Is there a design pattern to handle such a situation?

@jonh I think the condition of a while should already be dropping all temporaries after it’s evaluated.

The main issue I get with this code – assuming what you’re saying is that writer: Rc<Option<_>> – is that .is_ref() calls <Rc<…> as AsRef<_>>::as_ref not Option::as_ref. But that can be fixed in various ways, e.g.

while Option::as_ref(&self.writer).unwrap().borrow_mut().status().is_somethig()
{
    // The while performs an immutable borrow of self.
    if self.execution().is_done() == 0 { // mutable borrow of self
            // do something
    }
}

Rust Playground

Really, it’s impossible to help here any further. The questions lacks all necessary detail. The types aren’t properly explained, the error you’re getting isn’t properly shown, I’m not even entirely sure if we are talking about the issue being a compilation error in the first place.

Remember, if you’re having issue resolving a compilation error, share the compilation error. Also share a full code example that reproduces the problem, if that isn’t too difficult.

So I managed to make this compile, but It's not very clear to me why is this working.