Is Rust really faster than Java because of memory management?

I am a long-time Java programmer and have recently become intrigued by Rust.

One claim that I see repeated in a lot of websites about Rust is that Rust will be "blazingly fast" compared to Java because of how it does memory management. However, it seems to me that in many cases that matter, Java and Rust do very similar things:

• Both Java and Rust put primitives on the stack, which is cleaned up trivially by moving the stack pointer.
  • Rust can put complex objects on the stack, but as soon as a collection is involved, the "meat" of the complex object will live on the heap anyway.
  • Rust releases the heap memory for an object at the end of its lifetime, whereas Java uses garbage collection at an unspecific time.

I can see that Rust's management of the heap may be more memory-efficient (don't need to allocate extra workspace for the GC) and the time investment for allocating and releasing heap memory may be more distributed, but will a Rust program really spend less total time on heap management over the course of a complete run than the comparable Java program?

1 Like

The root difference regarding performance is that in Rust not all structs are placed in its own location. For example if I have HashMap<MyKey, MyValue> collection of length N, in Java it has at least 2N + 1 allocations while in Rust only single allocation is enough. Benefits from it is not only to reduce the amount of allocations tracked, but more about to reduce cache misses significantly.

Another benefit from it would be the zero cost abstractions. For example modern Java has Optional<T> type, but using it everywhere is discouraged as it hurts performance a lot. But in Rust having Option<T> is usually faster than having two fields bool and T.

14 Likes