Is manually looping through a vector always strictly worse then using iterators?

I’m new to rust, and I’m playing around with an optimization problem with graphs. The first thing I wrote was an implementation of Dijkstra’s algorithm to find the shortest path between all the nodes in the graph. The first version of the code is at http://is.gd/HPsCsa (function find_paths, note the graph nodes are activities, and the graph is not directed). It works according to a first test I have.

However, the outer loop in find_paths uses a range to go over each Activity one at a time. However, the Rust book says doing so is an anti-pattern and says it’s “strictly worse than using an actual iterator” ( https://doc.rust-lang.org/book/iterators.html ). Thus I wonder if there is a better way to deal with the outer loop. I initially tried to use iterators, but I ran into an issue as I wanted a mutable iterator, which borrowed the vector and wouldn’t let me access it further to get the other costs. Using indexing avoids that borrow allowing me to access element in the loop at any time.

Alternately, is the documentation a little strong, and iterators just generally the better path? From the little I’ve worked with rust, I’ve found iterators useful and I continue to try and use them everywhere else. If so, can the wording in the documentation be relaxed? As it stands, I feel like I did something wrong in this code because of that line. I’m happy to try and reword the sentence.

There are two main reasons why using an iterator is better than manually indexing. One of those is performance; the bounds checks that need to be performed when indexing can adversely affect performance. The other is safety. Indexing into an array or vector has the possibility of panicking, if some of your arithmetic is off and you try to access something out of bounds.