Implementing foreign traits on foreign objects

Hi,

I'm quite new to rust, but I can see this being a huge limitation, although I do understand the concerns as well.
What is the current opinion on partly lifting this limitation?

I'm thinking something along the lines of limiting the implementation to the crate where the implementation lives only, or enabling it for binary crates only?

Those solutions seem like a fairly good middle ground without giving place for ambiguity, since binary crates cannot be imported.

If I understand correctly, the argument against this is that it makes it a breaking change for a crate to implement a trait in the crate for a new type - a user might have already defined the trait for that type.

Wrapping has zero cost. What problem do you see that can't be solved this way?

True, but that means I'd have to wrap each and every value manually that is coming from somewhere else, such as an external crate.

If there would be a mechanism such as scala's implicit classes, I would be fine with that solution, but there is none... Is there?...

An argument could be made that this is a good thing, as it isolates you from your dependencies to some degree. That isn't always a good thing, but if you find yourself carriaging around a lot of types from external libraries, your code may be too tightly coupled to them.

I find that to be a gross generalization. It may be fitting (probably) for huge software projects, but in small projects, where agility is more important, isolating dependencies becomes very counterproductive.

Also this potentially introduces a lot of boilerplate, which is a very very bad thing in any case.

Newtypes are a good pattern when the thing that the newtype expresses are different than the basetype, or introduces details above it (such as the Millis in the example), but I find it hard to justify for extending an existing type with new functionality.