Implement the visitor pattern

Hello,
I'm quite new to rust and I'd like to implement the visitor pattern for a little side-project.
I'm stuck attempting to hide the mutability of the visitor, so I guess I'm missing something obvious (sorry for that in advance !)

here's a minimal example :

trait Visitor {
  fn visit(&self);
}

fn walk(v: &dyn Visitor){
  v.visit();
}

struct DummyVisitor;
impl Visitor for DummyVisitor {
  fn visit(&self){
    println!("dummy")
  }
}

struct AccumVisitor{
  i: u8,
}

impl AccumVisitor {
  fn visit(&mut self){
    self.i += 1;
  }
}

// err : expected fn pointer `fn(&AccumVisitor)`found fn pointer `fn(&mut AccumVisitor)`
//
// impl Visitor for AccumVisitor {
//   fn visit(&mut self){
//     self.i += 1;
//   }
// }

// err: `self` is a `&` reference, so the data it refers to cannot be written
//
//impl Visitor for &mut AccumVisitor {
//  fn visit(&self){
//    self.i += 1;
//  }
//}

fn main() {
  let vd = DummyVisitor;
  walk(&vd);

let va = &mut AccumVisitor{i:0};
  // walk(&va)

va.visit();
}

Best,

The visitor is usually going to want to modify itself during iteration, so it makes sense to use a mutable reference to it. You’re also going to need to pass the current node to the visitor somehow, and you likely want that to be an immutable reference (assuming the purpose of this visitor is purely for inspection). I’d probably define a pair of traits for this: one that describes the nodes and another for the visitors:

trait Visitable {
    /// Override this for collections that contain several nodes
    fn walk(&self, visitor: &mut impl Visitor) {
        visitor.visit(self);
    }

/* Other access methods */
}

trait Visitor {
    fn visit(&mut self, node:&impl Visitable);
}
1 Like

Thanks @2e71828 actually, I'd like not to assume if the visitor mutates itself or not (neither use the mut receiver everywhere to get the guarantee of no mutation if it's in the type signature).