How to run async from sync code?

Hi, I'm new to rust and needed some help in clarifying why this issue happens.

When I run this code using cargo run, it runs fine. As in, it runs the main, which runs sync_fn, which runs async, which runs for 1s, prints "done" and returns.
However when I run it using cargo test -- tests::test_single_thread, the code blocks. What's the difference between using tokio::main vs. tokio::test.
cargo test -- tests::test_multi_thread flavor also runs fine.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, I thought the futures::executor::block_on will run the async_fn and once that's done return resume the rest of sync_fn. Thanks for the help.

#[tokio::main]
async fn main() -> anyhow::Result<()> {
    sync_fn();
    Ok(())
}

fn sync_fn() {
    futures::executor::block_on(async_fn());
    println!("done")
}

async fn async_fn() {
    tokio::time::sleep(std::time::Duration::from_millis(1000)).await;
}

#[cfg(test)]
mod tests {
    use super::*;

#[tokio::test]
    async fn test_default() {
        sync_fn();
    }

#[tokio::test(flavor = "multi_thread", worker_threads = 1)]
    async fn test_multi_thread() {
        sync_fn();
    }
}

Tokio's functions expect to interact with Tokio's scheduler, but you're calling a tokio function from within another scheduler.

You're also blocking one of tokio's threads, which may cause tokio to not wake up.

1 Like

This is the problem, but also, the actual situation is a bit narrower than “one of” suggests.