How to impl "Send" for trait object

Hi everyone, I am a beginner of Rust. And now I encounter a problem on impl "Send" for trait object when using with tokio.

The code is the following:

use async_trait::async_trait;
use tokio::io::{AsyncRead, AsyncWrite};

#[async_trait]
pub trait Handler {
    async fn handle(&self) -> Result<(), std::io::Error>;
}

async fn serve( handler: std::sync::Arc<dyn Handler + Send>) {
    tokio::spawn(async move {
        let handler = handler;
        Ok(())
    });
}

fn main(){}

The error message is

error[E0277]: `dyn Handler + std::marker::Send` cannot be shared between threads safely
   --> src/main.rs:10:5
    |
10  |     tokio::spawn(async move {
    |     ^^^^^^^^^^^^ `dyn Handler + std::marker::Send` cannot be shared between threads safely
    | 
   ::: /Users/fbzhong/.cargo/registry/src/github.com-1ecc6299db9ec823/tokio-0.2.21/src/task/spawn.rs:127:21
    |
127 |         T: Future + Send + 'static,
    |                     ---- required by this bound in `tokio::task::spawn::spawn`
    |

Can anyone help me on this?
Thanks.

The solution offered by https://github.com/dtolnay/async-trait#dyn-traits is to add Send as a supertrait of the trait you're making into a trait object, rather than to add it as a bound. I think that'd look roughly like

#[async_trait]
pub trait Handler: Send {
}

async fn serve( handler: std::sync::Arc<dyn Handler>) {

Does this work for your use case / is this bound acceptable? If so, I think that's the best solution.

1 Like

Hi @daboross Thanks for replying. And I did try this method, and it have errors too:

error[E0277]: `dyn Handler` cannot be shared between threads safely
   --> src/main.rs:9:5
    |
9   |     tokio::spawn(async move {
    |     ^^^^^^^^^^^^ `dyn Handler` cannot be shared between threads safely
    | 
   ::: /Users/fbzhong/.cargo/registry/src/github.com-1ecc6299db9ec823/tokio-0.2.21/src/task/spawn.rs:127:21
    |