How to configure vim for rust

Hello all,

First of all i'd like to say hello to the Rust community . I'm very new to Rust : i've just finished the 5th chapter of the book .

Now I want to configure a development environment based on VIM and I'm a bit confused because when searching for 'vim rust' apparently there are too many plugins for vim . And ... I'm not sure how to find out which of them are mature and which are just prototypes .

The 'are we ide yet' website mentions several vim plugins (rust.vim, YouCompleteMe, vim-racer ,...) but it's unclear whether they are alternatives that do the same thing, or if they need to be installed together.

So my question is : what vim plugin(s) do you recommend me to install in order to have

• colored syntax for rust
  • code completion (if i understand correctly there is a tool called racer that can be used by editors)
  • nice to have : a left pane for files browsing

Thanks in advance for any suggestion!
Adrian

6 Likes

I recommend https://github.com/rust-lang/rust.vim plus https://github.com/autozimu/LanguageClient-neovim plus https://github.com/rust-lang-nursery/rls. No idea what to use for a pane, though.

5 Likes

Yep, pretty much this! I use NERDTree for a left pane / file browser that I can toggle when I need to.

1 Like

I went through my gross and gnarly vimrc and trimmed it down to something that's possibly helpful. It's a combination of my personal stuff and A Good Vimrc . You'll need to be using vim8 and install GitHub - junegunn/vim-plug: Minimalist Vim Plugin Manager .

" plug
call plug#begin()
Plug 'rust-lang/rust.vim'
Plug 'scrooloose/nerdtree'
Plug 'ervandew/supertab'
Plug 'ctrlpvim/ctrlp.vim'
Plug 'w0rp/ale'
call plug#end()

" history
set history=700

" Vim recommended
if has('autocmd')
  filetype plugin indent on
endif
if has('syntax') && !exists('g:syntax_on')
  syntax enable
endif
set synmaxcol=9999
set hidden " Allows you to switch buffers without saving current
set wildmenu "tab completion