How to avoid borrow checker errors when decomposing functions?

Hello.

Even though I'm new to Rust, I absolutely loved it for its safety, speed, meta-programming and other great features that other programming languages doesn't have.

However, there are certain problems in Rust I haven't had with other languages, particularly with the borrow checker.

I've always been trying to write a clean, readable code. Following the recommendations of Robert C. Martin from his book Clean Code, I always strive to decompose functions into smaller functions, into logically connected blocks of code. In other programming languages I had no problem with that, unlike in Rust.

Here is a simplified version of my code:

struct SomeType {
    list: Vec<u32>,
    integer: u32,
}

impl SomeType {
    fn new(list: Vec<u32>) -> Self {
        Self {
            list: list,
            integer: 0,
        }
    }

fn update(&mut self) {
        for w in self.list.iter() {
            // SOME CODE

// A LOT OF CODE ...
            // A LOT OF CODE ...
            // A LOT OF CODE ...

self.integer += w;

// A LOT OF CODE ...
            // A LOT OF CODE ...
            // A LOT OF CODE ...

// SOME CODE
        }
    }
}

fn main() {
    let mut t = SomeType::new(vec![1, 2, 3, 4]);
    t.update();
}

I intended to extract a method subfunction from the update function to make the code a little bit cleaner.
So now the code looks like this:

fn update(&mut self) {
        for w in self.list.iter() {
            // SOME CODE

self.subfunction(*w);

// SOME CODE
        }
    }

fn subfunction(&mut self, w: u32) {
        // A LOT OF CODE ...
        // A LOT OF CODE ...
        // A LOT OF CODE ...

self.integer += w;

// A LOT OF CODE ...
        // A LOT OF CODE ...
        // A LOT OF CODE ...
    }

But after this seemed to be usual operation, the code doesn't compile anymore, for the following reason:

error[E0502]: cannot borrow `*self` as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable