How hard would it be to build a Rust transpiler that translates Rust to C?

Probably a little too hard, but you never know. I am an experienced software developer, but my knowledge of compilers is pretty poor.
I have been impressed by the simplicity of projects like the c4 compiler (GitHub - rswier/c4: C in four functions), which is not really C but still impressive, and the Tiny C Compiler (TCC : Tiny C Compiler), and I am getting this idea that I might start playing with languages.
So I was wondering how hard it would be to do something that can take a more complicated language like Rust and translate it into C. Which, I guess, would make it easier than something like LLVM bytecode.
Maybe with an LSP and DAP server, or I am asking too much? :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Like mrustc?

6 Likes

quite interesting, thank you. It looks a little limited, but it gives an idea

It's able to bootstrap rustc. It doesn't have a borrow checker implementation and assumes the rust code is correct according to that.
But other than that it is a pretty complete implementation.

1 Like

Just out of interest, there is also the reverse: c2rust. There was quite an interesting interview on with c2rust's author on the Rustacean Station podcast.

2 Likes

It wouldn't make it even a bit easier, probably.

The hard part in compiling Rust is not emitting LLVM IR. Emitting LLVM IR is trivial. LLVM has an API that provides high-level functions and types for emitting the IR and converting it to binary bitcode or the textual, human-readable format.