How are you using rustfmt and clippy?

I ask this question here under "community" because it's about how the Rust community communicates in actual Rust code.

As a Rust newbie I found rustfmt and clippy after a week of happy hacking my Rust experiments. Oh boy. rustfmt totally rearranged my code, clippy complained like hell about a thousand things.

I guess I could have started tweaking the rules of rustfmt and clippy and bending them to my liking. But I'm lazy, I thought perhaps this the Rust project's way, so I tweaked my code instead to get rid of all the warnings and fix things up according to clippy's suggestions. I was some what amazed that clippy even suggested changing some of my types and even changing syntactic structures altogether.

In other worlds there is endless, useless, debate about source code formatting and style. Everyone has their own opinion. What style guides there are vary from company to company, project to project. I'd be happy if there were only one formatting that a compiler would accept. That would at least save us from the time wasting debate and the effort of having to even think about what style we like.

So my question is? What is everyone else doing with rustfmt and clippy? Are they using the default rules out of the box. Or are they tweaking around making their own house style?

3 Likes

I am (slowly) migrating to rustfmt with the following config:

max_width = 79
use_small_heuristics = "max"

I still have not got on the Clippy train. In principle, it's a good idea, but I need to sit down and go through the considerable number of lints to enable/disable ones I agree/disagree with. There are lots in the default set that I don't agree with unfortunately. (If I were starting a greenfield project in collaboration with others, I'd probably take the time to sit down and whitelist some initial set of lints.)

3 Likes

I'm do not contribute to projects that enforce rustfmt formatting. I can't stand rustfmt.