Help with Pattern matching Options

Hello everyone.

I recently started learning Rust and I am having a bit of trouble with pattern matching and options. Here is the scenario:

I have the following struct

pub struct Device {
    pub name: String,
    pub desc: Option<String>,
}

I am trying to access the description option using the following:

let desc = match d.desc {
    Some(desc) => desc,
    None => (), // I have tried multiple things here
}

I get:

error: match arms have incompatible types:
 expected `collections::string::String`,
    found `()` // or whatever else I put in there

What am I doing wrong here and what’s the good thing to do here? I am trying to loop over a list of devices and print their names and descriptions. In some cases description is None. What is the rust way to deal with that?

Thanks in advance.

The problem is that depending on presence of desc, you are returning either desc which is string, or () - that’s what rust complain about. You choice is to either:

1. Embrace the fact that there is no value in some cases and pass it higher. In that case there is no point of pattern matching here.

2. In case of None set desc to empty string.

Yeah the problem is that I have tried empty string / other string and it still complains:

expected `collections::string::String`,
    found `&'static str`

Does it need to be some kind of a reference or something?

Use

"".to_string()

Just came here to say I read this: http://hermanradtke.com/2015/05/03/string-vs-str-in-rust-functions.html
and used to_string().

But then I get this:

expected `()`,
    found `collections::string::String`

I am guessing this happens when desc is (). This makes it a bit impossible for a match to work, no?

OK, this is how I “fixed” it.

println!("Description: {}", d.desc.unwrap_or("No desc".to_string()));

This looks rather strange. Is it the “Rust” way of doing it. I am also not sure why this works but the pattern match doesn’t.

Study those to understand it: