Help With Function to find MAX value in Array

I am new to Rust and trying to make a function to return the max value of an array and reverse an array:

The following code works but is not a function:

fn main() {
    let arr: [i64; 5] = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5];
    let mut large: i64 = 0;
    let mut i: usize = 0;

large = arr[0];
    while i < arr.len() {
        if large < arr[i] {
            large = arr[i]
        }
        i = i + 1;
    }
    println!("Largest element in the array: {}", large);
}

Can a function be made and simply called by main?

fn max_number(_numbers: &[i64]) -> i64 {
    …
}

Best, David

FYI, code needs to be formatted by enclosing it between two lines of three (or more) backticks, like so:

```
Code goes here
```

You appear to have formatted your code by preceding lines with >, which is for formatting blockquotes.

On the matter of your actual question, exactly what trouble are you having with trying to convert your code into a function? Have you made any attempts, and, if so, what errors did the compiler give?

1 Like

I assume this is for learning purposes. I'll walk through how this can be done and some improvements that could be made.

Here's a first pass at modifying your program. I made minimal changes:

• Added the function you suggested
  • Put most of your code in the function
  • Renamed arr to numbers in the function
  • Added large at the end of the function to return it
  • Left the array and println in main, and called the function to get large

There's still a warning about an unused initialization that we can get rid of:

-    let mut large: i64 = 0;
     let mut i: usize = 0;
-
-    large = numbers[0];
+    let mut large = numbers[0];

But here's a question for you: What should happen when someone passes in an empty slice? Indexing element 0 will panic if the slice is empty in this version. We'll come back to do this later.