Help understand borrowing scenario

Hi,

I am new to Rust and implementing some exercises to understand borrowing and there is a situation that I don't get why happen. Bellow the code:

struct User {
    name:String,
    email:String
}

impl User {
    fn birthday(&mut self) {
        self.age += 1;
    }

fn create(name:String, age:i8, gender:char, email:String) -> User {
        User { name, age, gender, email }
    }

fn name_abv(&self) -> String {
        let chars = self.name.as_bytes();
        let mut abv = String::new();
        for (i, &c) in chars.iter().enumerate() {
            if i == 0 || chars[i-1] == b' ' {
                let ct = [c];
                let v = from_utf8(&[c]).unwrap();
                abv.push_str(&v);
                abv.push_str(".");
                continue;
            }
        };
        abv
    }
}

In the name_abv method when using the std::str::from_utf8 if I try to pass the c byte directly from_utf8(&[c]).unwrap() the following error ocurs:

error[E0716]: temporary value dropped while borrowed
  --> src/main.rs:27:36
   |
27 |                 let v = from_utf8(&[c]).unwrap();
   |                                    ^^^          - temporary value is freed at the end of this statement
   |                                    |
   |                                    creates a temporary which is freed while still in use
28 |                 abv.push_str(&v);
   |                              -- borrow later used here
   |
   = note: consider using a `let` binding to create a longer lived value

But if I use the code exactly as it is in the method above everything works fine, the difference is that I created the variable ct let ct = &[c] and passed to from_utf8 which is basically the same thing. Can anyone help me understand this behavior ?

Thank you!!

Hi @fnalonso can you paste this into Rust Playground and send us the link?

There is no fn main() here, which makes it harder to take this for a test drive.

1 Like