Help in understanding the documentation

Hi

I'm new to rust and I'm currently struggling with the documentation - I'm sure this is covered somewhere within the docs but I don't know where exactly

So I'm trying to use repeat with the chars function (it's an online challenge so nothing serious)

fn main() {
    let s = "Test".to_string();
    s.chars().repeat(2);
}
s.chars().repeat(2);
          ^^^^^^ method not found in `std::str::Chars<'_>`

Ok - fair enough - however where within the documentation does it inform me that repeat is incompatible with the chars iterator?

I can see within the docs that the definition of repeat is as per below but can't fathom out how this omits the chars iterator?

pub fn repeat<T>(elt: T) -> Repeat<T> where
    T: Clone, 

Cheers
Lee

Hi, you can properly format your post by using code blocks like this:

```
// your code here
```

Error messages go in code blocks too.

1 Like

The repeat function you're looking at is for repeating a single item indefinitely. You're most likely confusing it with the str::repeat method, however to use that one you have to call it on the string directly. A character iterator does not have a repeat method.

fn main() {
    for c in s.repeat(2).chars() {
        println!("{}", c);
    }
}

If you look at the definition of repeat, you see that it is a free-standing function, not a method (note that it doesn't take self as its first argument.) You should be using it like this:

repeat(s.chars());

You may also be confusing this with repeat_n from the itertools crate, but that is also not a method.

1 Like

If you try to use std::iter::repeat as repeat(s.chars()), you get an iterator of iterators. I suppose you could flatten it.

use std::iter::repeat;

fn main() {
    for c in repeat(s.chars()).take(2).flatten() {
        println!("{}", c);
    }
}

Here I use take to stop it after two iterators, because the repeat function would otherwise continue indefinitely.