Guidance related to code

i am very new to rust programming and i am writing a code in which i have 3 files under src folder i.e main.rs, mod_a.rs and mod_b.rs and i want to access mob_b.rs in mod_a.rs i have already written mod mod_b in main.rs and use crate::mod_b::function2; (function2 is defined in my mod_b.rs) in mod_a.rs but i wont compile it will giver error. i am attaching the pictures of code below please have alook in it i am very confuse. thanks in advance for your time and consideration.

main.rs

mod_a.rs:

mod_b.rs:

the error message is shown below:

please help me to resolve the issue.

function1 doesn't return anything, so you cannot assign the result of it back into input_data. It would work if function1 looked like this:

pub fn function1(data1: f32) -> f32 {
    function2(data1 * 9.0)
}

The differences are:

• A return type has been added to the function signature (-> f32).
  • The semi-colon (;) has been removed from the function body (using a semi-colon throws the value away and returns nothing.

(Also, in future, please provide your code/error messages as text rather than as images - it makes it easier for people to copy and paste your code so they can help fix it!)

2 Likes

thanks for your kind response brother can u plz help i want to store value from function2 in mod_b.rs in input_data how to write the code for this .

Are you asking how to call function2 from main? If so:

mod mod_a;
mod mod_b;

fn main() {
    let mut input_data: f32 = 46.5;

input_data = mod_b::function2(input_data);
    println!("{}", input_data);
}

If you still want to call function2 via function1, make the change I showed you in my previous reply instead.

And when you do this, please follow the formatting guide for your code

https://users.rust-lang.org/t/forum-code-formatting-and-syntax-highlighting/42214/7

5 Likes