Good explanation of 'static

I tried to explain the 'static bound to a friend, since it's one of those concept that can seem a bit confusing. I'm not a PL expert so I thought I'd check out if you think the explanation I gave is a good one or if you have a better way of explaining it?

When you see something requiring 'static, it doesn't really mean it has to be static like static variables and &'static str which are placed in the .bss or .data segment of the executable file (and therefore exists for the liftetime of the program). It basically means that the the lifetime of the object isn't dependant on anything else and therefore is not restricted by any other part of the program.

Take String as an example. If we take a reference to a string &String, or a reference to the a slice of the string &str, these references will always depend on the lifetime of the String object they're pointing to and will not satisfy a 'static bound. If you pass in the String object itself, it will satisfy the 'static requirement even tough it might be dropped before the program ends. The special case here is &static str which points to an "object" which is guaranteed to live the entire lifetime of the program so it's fine to reference it.

'static is a requirement that affects references. It's important to remember that not all pointers are references. If you pass in a Box<String> it will be a pointer just like &String but since the String it points to is heap allocated we know by the guarantees Box gives us that the lifetime of the String object is tied to the liftime of the Box-pointer and not to a stack frame like a "normal" &String would be.

Do you know of a better explanation that you want to share (or spot any mistakes in mine)?

6 Likes

You don't touch on the difference between &'static T and T: 'static, which is very important. See also this document.

12 Likes