FFI bindings for taskwarrior

Hi all,

I'm a novice continuing to learn about FFI, with no C/C++ background.

After my last thread, I thought that perhaps taskwarrior would be a cool project to build FFI bindings for, and work on a safe rust wrapper*. With cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=release && make it builds without issue on both my M1 Mac and Linux x86_64 machines.

I think it looks like a better candidate for FFI than my prior project as it has most of the functionality exposed in shared libraries; here is the main.cpp, see several in the compiled C++ project:

$ fd -u '^lib.*\.a$'
src/columns/libcolumns.a
src/commands/libcommands.a
src/liblibshared.a
src/libtask.a

Unfortunately, with either of my machines I can't get it to build and link with cmake-rs. After lots of tinkering, here is the most recent iteration of my build.rs (and my only test currently just calls let context = Context_getContext();, which I think should be the proper name-mangled function after looking at bindings.rs).

use std::env;
use std::path::PathBuf;

use cmake::Config;

fn main() {
    println!("cargo:rerun-if-changed=wrapper.h");

let dst = Config::new("vendor/taskwarrior").profile("release").build();

println!(
        "cargo:rustc-link-search=native={}/build/src/columns",
        dst.display()
    );
    println!(
        "cargo:rustc-link-search=native={}/build/src/commands",
        dst.display()
    );
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-search=native={}/build/src", dst.display());
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-lib=static=task");
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-lib=static=libshared");
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-lib=static=columns");
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-lib=static=commands");

let bindings = bindgen::Builder::default()
        .header("wrapper.h")
        .parse_callbacks(Box::new(bindgen::CargoCallbacks))
        .clang_arg("-xc++")
        .clang_arg("-lc++")
        .clang_arg("-std=c++17")
        .clang_arg("-stdlib=libc++")