Exploring Rust / Developing a Custom Graph

Hello,

I am new to Rust -- exploring whether to use it. My aim is to create a mini in-memory custom graph database with some augmented low level features.

I am reading that graph structures are in particular difficult to program in Rust [1], given its ownership model -- I am curious how steep the leaning curve would be to get this right.

It seems that I can't use existing libraries (e.g. petgraph), given some custom features i need -- e.g. allowance for multiple links between same two nodes.

Given that pointers are a key capability in Rust -- i wonder why a simple linked structure such as a graph can be so difficult to program, and how to easy to learning curve.

much appreciating your response,

Dan

[1] " 1.8.1 Cyclic data structures

It is difficult to model cyclic data like an arbitrary graph structure in Rust. Implementing a doubly-linked list is an undergraduate-level computer science problem. Yet Rust’s safety checks do hamper progress here. If you’re learning the language, avoid implementing these sorts of data structures until you’re more familiar with Rust."

1 Like

Rust’s ownership model mostly requires object instances to form a tree whose root is a local variable in some function. Cross-linking between different branches of the same tree is tricky at best, impossible at worst. To represent general graph structures, there’s two main approaches:

• Use shared-ownership references (Rc or Arc), which can be arbitrarily interlinked, but incur a runtime cost.
  • Store the graph elements in one or more flat collections; use IDs instead of pointers to refer to other elements.
1 Like

Thank you.

Can you elaborate a bit on the runtime cost -- why its there and, in principle, what it is ?

I guess, this would replace following pointers with calculating indices in collections (arrays) -- and, it would require collections that can grow.

Can this be done efficiently -- or as efficiently than pointers?

thank you,