Embedding Trait inside of Struct

I'm fairly new to rust and have been trying to learn by actually creating simple websites.

I was able to embed a trait inside of a struct. https://play.rust-lang.org/?version=stable&mode=debug&edition=2018&gist=cb94e9a63d94e9a6cbc9deb6a1d34acc

use std::env;

pub trait BlogBackend {}

pub struct AppState {
    pub host: String,
    pub port: String,
    pub blog: Box<dyn BlogBackend + Send + Sync>,
}

pub struct BlogFsBackend{}

impl BlogBackend for BlogFsBackend{}

impl  AppState {
    pub fn new() -> AppState {
        AppState {
            host: env::var("HOST").unwrap_or("127.0.0.1".to_string()),
            port: env::var("PORT").unwrap_or("8080".to_string()),
            blog: Box::new(BlogFsBackend{}),
        }
    }

pub fn addr(&self) -> String {
        format!("{}:{}", self.host, self.port)
    }
}

Here is how I'm using app state with tide.

pub mod appstate;

use appstate::AppState;

pub async fn start() -> Result<(), std::io::Error> {
    let state = AppState::new();
    let addr = state.addr();
    let mut app = tide::with_state(state);
    app.at("/").get(|_| async move { "Hello world!" });
    app.listen(addr).await?;
    Ok(())
}

Here is tide's with_state contract.

pub fn with_state<State>(state: State) -> server::Server<State>
where
    State: Send + Sync + 'static,
{
}
  1. Is Box<dyn trait> the way to embed trait inside of a struct? Are there other alternatives?
  2. I never implemented Send + Sync for BlogFsBackend but somehow rust seems to auto implement it since as soon as I remove Send + Sync from Box<dyn BlogBackend + Send + Sync> it fails with compilation error since with_state requires it. Can someone explain how this works.
  3. Is it preferred to use String for host in struct or &str?

There are two ways to embed a trait inside a struct: boxing and generics.