Efficiently computing set intersection *and* difference

I'm very new to Rust so bear with me if this is a rookie/stupid question. Note also I come from a C++ background, so feel free to provide analogies with C++ if that helps.

I'm trying to implement a function which will take two (Hash)Sets A and B and do the following:

• Modify A -> A n (A\B)
  • Return AnB (before A is modified)

Put another way, I want to remove everything in B from A and return what was removed (but don't assume that B is contained in A).

I'd like to know how to do this efficiently, i.e. I don't want to create lots of "copies" of objects (possibly I mean clones here in Rust language). In my mind it should be possible to basically split A into two parts and transfer ownership in such a way that no new allocations (copies/clones) are needed.

I tried this originally with .intersection and .difference and fell flat on my face. After being lost in the woods with references and lifetimes for a while I came to the conclusion that these methods wouldn't allow me to do what I want without needless copying.

The solution I came up with is below. I've simplified it a little as my original code had generics. I now just have HashSets of some custom struct SomeData.

My questions are:

• Is this as efficient as it can be?

• Am I right in my conclusion that .intersection and .difference wouldn't be able to help me here?

#[derive(Eq, PartialEq, Hash, Debug, Clone)]
      struct SomeData {
          i: i32,
      }

fn remove_values(all_values: &mut HashSet<SomeData>, remove_values: & HashSet<SomeData> ) -> HashSet<SomeData> {
          // Whatever way I do this, I am always going to have to create a new container for the return
          // values
          let mut removed_values: HashSet<SomeData> = HashSet::new();

for remove_me in remove_values.iter() {
              // My understanding here is that `take` will not just remove the value from all_values (if