Do you use the return?

There is an opinion to avoid using return in Rust. It's a pretty much as goto statement and a coder should avoid using it. I have nothing against using goto, since my background is from Fortran. However, what is your opinion on return?
Compare the following fragments:

if let Ok(output) = output {
       if output.status.success() {
           let pos = output.stdout[0] == 43u8; // '+'
           let mut hour : i16 = (&output.stdout[1] - 48) as i16;
           hour = hour * 10 + (&output.stdout[2] - 48) as i16;
           let mut min : i16 = (output.stdout[3] - 48) as i16;
           min = min * 10 + (&output.stdout[4] - 48) as i16;
           if pos {
               hour * 60 + min
           } else {
               -hour * 60 - min
           }
        } else {
        }
    } else {
    }

And the same fragment with return:

if let Ok(output) = output {
       if output.status.success() {
           return if pos {
               hour * 60 + min
           } else {
               -hour * 60 - min
           }
        }
    }

Or maybe even better:

if let Ok(output) = output && output.status.success()  {
           if pos {
               hour * 60 + min
           } else {
               -hour * 60 - min
           }
    } else {
    }

Note, there is not obvious how avoid returns in complex, nested match statements.

Additional options include

match output {
    Ok(output) if output.status.success() => {
        let mut hour: i16 = (&output.stdout[1] - 48) as i16;
        let mut min: i16 = (output.stdout[3] - 48) as i16;
        if pos {
            hour * 60 + min
        } else {
            -hour * 60 - min
        }
    }
    _ => 0,
}

and

if let Ok(output) = output.filter(|o| o.status.success()) {
    if pos {
        hour * 60 + min
    } else {
        -hour * 60 - min
    }
} else {
}

And just for fun, here’s one that uses Option::filter and return – with let … else – to remove even more indentation: