Cross compile target i386 architecture

Hello everyone, total Rust noob here. I'm mucking about with Rust on an old i586 300mhz Pentium MMX running a bare bones Debian 8.1 upgraded to Debian Sid.

I'd been hesistant to upgrade to the unstable release of Debian but I shouldn't have been. It was completely painless and now I've got the Rust goodies.

I'm wondering how to cross compile for i386 on an amd64 machine. Perhaps its' as simple as running the Rust compiler like this:

rustc --target=i386-linux-gnu
1 Like

Wasn't so simple, I get the following error:

error: Error loading target specification: Could not find specification for target "i386-linux-gnu"

I've tried various different targets such as i386-linux-unknown, i386-pc-linux. Not found one that works yet but I am stabbing in the dark. Is it possible to get a list of available ones?

Check out

Maybe you can get by with just tweaking this line.

Wonderful, thanks for the links! Looks like essential reading for this kind of thing.

edit: there is more -

http://www.cs.brandeis.edu/~cs146a/rust/doc-02-21-2015/rustc_back/target/index.html

http://doc.rust-lang.org/1.1.0/rustc_back/target/struct.Target.html

So the "target specification" should be json format. I've created one:

{
    "data-layout": "",
    "llvm-target": "i386-linux-gnu",
    "target-endian": "little",
    "target-pointer-width": "32",
    "os": "linux",
    "target-env": "gnu",
    "arch": "x86",
    "options": "base"
}

Compile the hello world example like:

rustc --target=i386.json hello.rs

I'm getting the following error:

hello.rs:1:1: 1:1 error: can't find crate for `std`
hello.rs:1 fn main() {
           ^
error: aborting due to previous error

Without setting a target I can compile fine. Do I need to get the rust std library compiled for i386?

edit: (yes, it seems I do , I'll be trying this later - Cross compiling std (quickly) with cargo https://github.com/japaric/std-with-cargo/blob/master/README.md )

1 Like