Crate::Module::Function Organization Question

I'm new to rust and I'm an intermediate programmer, at best, in general. I'm wanting to learn how to separate my code into modules and functions, which I have never done before. My current understanding is that I have a main.rs and I should use lib.rs for my project modules . Then within the modules would be public functions etc. Does this sound correct? Any other pointers or clarifications to this? Is lib.rs a required name or just the standard?

mod my_module{
    mod sub_module{
        pub fn public_function() {}
        fn private_function() {}
    }
    mod sub_mod_two{
        pub fn pub_two() {}
    }
}

main.rs is only used by binary targets, i.e. when you want to compile a crate to an executable program. The main.rs file also needs to define a main function.

lib.rs is used by library targets, i.e. you want your crate to be imported by other code.

You can only compile one of the two targets at once, however you can have one crate which you can both compile to a binary and export as a library (by just defining both [lib] and [[bin]] sections in your crate's Cargo.toml).

Depending on which target you compile to, either the main.rs (binary) or the lib.rs (library) file will define the crate module in your code, which is the module that contains all other modules. But they both work the same way, as ordinary modules.

Then, as you said, you can define modules in your crate root module (crate). You can put all modules into one file, but of course that will get cluttered quickly. that is why you can move each module into its own .rs file, or into its own directory in the src file. Then you just need to declare the modules in the root module:

// lib.rs
pub mod m1;
pub mod m2;

and define the modules seperately:

src
├── lib.rs
├── m1.rs
└── m2.rs

Rust will compile m1 and m2 and you can reference them in your code by crate::m1 for instance.