Converting iterators as a blanket implementation

Hi, I'm new to Rust and was recently working on a problem to convert a Vec<TheirAddress> to a Vec<OurAddress>, converting the address format of an API response to the address struct we use internally. I ended up settling on

let addresses = resp_addresses.iter().map(OurAddress::from).collect();

This works, and the resulting type of addresses is Vec<OurAddress>, but it seems like this is a common use case. Is there a more idiomatic way of doing this? For example, could their be a blanket implementation on From like

impl<U, T> From<Vec<U>> for Vec<T> 
where 
  T: From<U>,
{
  fn from(u: Vec<U>) -> Self {
    u.iter().map(T::from).collect()
  }
}

^ what I am attempt to convey here is for any type U and T where U can be converted into T you should be able to convert a Vec into a Vec. Does this already exist in the standard library and I missed it?

Further, could / should this be generalized to iterators like

impl<U, T, D> From<IntoIterator<U>> for D 
where 
  T: From<U>,
  D: FromIterator<T>,
{
  fn from(u: IntoIterator<U>) -> Self {
    D::from_iter(u.into_iter().map(T::from))
  }
}

This would allow anything that can be converted into an iterator of U to be converted into anything that can be created from an iterator of T if U can be converted into T. This would allow me to do things like

let resp_addresses = // Vec<TheirAddress>...

let addresses: BTreeSet<OurAddress> = BTreeSet::from(resp_addresses);

This seems like it would be really useful to allow for quickly converting between containers and the underlying data type in the process. Does this make sense or what am I missing?

This will probably one day be doable with just the normal .into(), but because of the blanket T: From<T> it needs specialization, which is not yet stable.

(The library cannot write impl<U> From<Vec<U>> for Vec<T> where T: From<U> because that overlaps with the From<Vec<T>> for Vec<T>> from the blanket.)

1 Like