Constructor question

Hi all,
I'm a Rust newbie so go easy! I'm currently reading through classes and instances in Rust and I want to include a check in a class constructor to ensure that a constructor argument is non-negative. That's all pretty straightforward (although there are probably some more elegant ways of doing than I have done), but my question is how to handle a negative number being passed to the constructor. I don't want to assign a default value, so I guess I need to return an error. What would folks recommend when it comes to handling errors and exceptions in Rust? Is there a pattern or standard way of doing so, or is it just the same as it is in Java i.e. throw an exception?

Thanks in advance,

Angus

There's a few things I want to clarify:

• Constructors in Rust are kind of a fuzzy line; there's the constructor syntax functions which use the constructor syntax which are colloquially called the constructor function(s). I will assume you're talking about a constructor function.
  • There are no classes in Rust; there's only structs which do not implicitly live under a reference like a class does.

You can restrict the behaviour in a few ways:

• You can return an Option<Self>:
    struct Foo(number: isize);
    impl Foo {
        fn new(x: isize) -> Option<Foo> {
            if x < 0 {
                None
            else {
                Some( Foo(x) )
            }
        }
    }

• Make your numeric type not support negative values. All of the following are unsigned and therefore can't represent unsigned values: u8, u16, u32, u64, u128, usize.
  • In the case it is an unrecoverable error not meant for your logic to survive, then panic!.
    Note that panics may seem like exceptions but exceptions can be caught, while conventional Rust prefers you don't do that. Also, panics can be configured to result in aborting the process, and therefore become unrecoverable.