Complete Noob to coding Question

So I work in IT but have no real experience with coding and would like to get into at least the basics and begin learning how.

Would Rust be a good language to learn on? Are there any good free or low cost resources to use to learn how to code in general or learn some of the basic language and terms used in coding?

Welcome to the forum!

The best learning resource to start from scratch is the The Rust Programming Language - The Rust Programming Language.

Camus once observed that during WWII, young men wondering whether to enlist would ask their professors for advice if they secretly wanted to go, and their priest if they really wanted to stay. What made you decide to ask about Rust?

1 Like

From what I am seeing it is a newer language that appears to becoming popular and I would like to get in on learning the language earlier on than say C++ or other older languages. Not saying I won't look into the older languages as it is likely, at least I'm assuming, the newer languages get their roots from older languages and understanding the old can help in learning new languages as well. But I would like to learn a new language that could maybe give me a foot up in future job prospects or potentially allow me to expand my career options.

Learning a new, up-and-coming language has appeal for me, too. I settled on Rust after I became enamored with the memory management model, an innovate approach to providing memory safety. I also like the way the compiler enables me to write coherent code with helpful errors and lints. If C++ is bowling, then Rust is bowling with the bumpers inflated in the gutters. When dropping the pins is getting my program to work, Rust lets me feel like a professor bowler while possessing a fraction of the skill.

1 Like