.cargo\bin PATH issue on Windows (absolute beginner)

First of all apologies if this was asked. I looked it up (here and elsewhere) before asking. Most of the answers are given for *nix systems.

I'm trying to learn Rust, on Windows. I installed it and confirmed it is where it should be:

C:\Users\myname\.cargo\bin> rustup --version
rustup 1.21.1 (7832b2ebe 2019-12-20) 

I checked environmental variables for both system and my account. Both have C:\Users\myname\.cargo\bin set in Path, among other locations.

If I try to use cargo in CMD.exe in any directory other than in the one above, it is not recognized untill I cd to .cargo\bin directory. I'm bit confused by this. Any idea what I should do to make this command visible from anywhere?

.cargo\bin is cargo's private directory, and you're not supposed to cd there, ever.

cargo command is supposed to work in every directory, thanks to PATH environmental variable. By default, rustup installation sets this up for you.

• Try closing the terminal and re-opening it. If that doesn't help reboot.

• If rustup hasn't set up PATH, either run rustup installation again, or try adding it manually.

1 Like

Hi kornel,

Thank you for your reply.

Noted regarding the bin directory.

I actually did try reopening the CMD.exe, restarting, and setting up the Path in both Windows system and user account environmental variables settings). This was mentioned elsewhere as part of troubleshooting process.

Running the installer again simply states that rust is installed (congrats message).

I also tried uninstalling via rustup self uninstall (I found this somewhere else online) and then repeating the installation and the troubleshooting steps but I'm still experiencing the same problem.

I'm all out of ideas. Not off to a good start I must say. All these issues without even actually doing anything makes me wonder how it would look like actually doing something in it...