Cannot borrow `buf_reader` as mutable more than once at a time

Hello community,
I'm new to Rust and I'm learning to use the BufReader struct. I don't understand why this code doesn't compile:

use std::fs;
use std::io;
use std::io::BufRead;

pub fn read_a_file() {
    let file_name = "/tmp/text_file.txt";
    let input_file = fs::File::open(file_name).expect("failed to open file");
    let mut buf_reader = io::BufReader::new(input_file);
    loop {
        let content = buf_reader.fill_buf().expect("failed to fill buffer");
        if content.is_empty() {
            println!("no more data to read");
            break;
        }
        for u8_value in content {
            print!("{}", *u8_value as char);
        }
        buf_reader.consume(content.len());
    }
    println!();
}

Rustc says: error[E0499]: cannot borrow buf_reader as mutable more than once at a time
--> src/check_read.rs:18:9
|
10 | let content = buf_reader.fill_buf().expect("failed to fill buffer");
| --------------------- first mutable borrow occurs here
18 | buf_reader.consume(content.len());
| ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^-------------^
| | |
| | first borrow later used here
| second mutable borrow occurs here

It seems that everyone on the internet first calls fill_buf() then consume(), I don't understand why it doesn't work in my code. Can someone please help explain? Thanks in advance.

let len = content.len();
        buf_reader.consume(len);

Do this, as in the example for fill_buf. The content has borrowed the buffer, so getting its length before doing another borrow in consume is needed.

1 Like

it's an unfortunate and confusing limitation of the current borrow checker. search "two phase borrows" if you are interested in the details. in short, content borrows buf_reader, and its last use is buf_reader.consume(content.len()), so the lifetime of the borrow cannot be shorten, but BufReader::consume need self to also be exclusively (aka mut) borrowed, so it's a conflict. the workaround is: