Can I insert variable result into database?

First of all hello everyone!

I am a newbie in Rust. Just finished setting up Diesel Actix-web and PostgreSQL. I have a question.

Is it possible to insert into online database some variables? For example server time, or some random output? If yes which module or lib should I start looking for? Does Rocket also support feature like that?

Thank you in advance.

Of course. Databases are for storing data. Data generally comes from variables.

I use Rocket with the rust-postgres driver:

Rust-Postgres

Thank you. So this example should work?

let info = os_info::get();

let rows_inserted = diesel::insert_into(users)
    .values(&id.eq(&info?))
    .execute(&connection);

assert_eq!(Ok(1), rows_inserted);

When I have .

values(&id.eq(variable-info)) - how to put variable in proper way

? In all examples there is always some strings. Sorry I am completely new.

In that case I suspect you will run into a lot of frustration by diving straight into using databases from Rust and likely give up.

I suggest:

1. Get a bit "old" at Rust. As it were. Get familiar with it. Work through the Rust book: The Rust Programming Language - The Rust Programming Language

2. Create some complete working programs in Rust that do not use any database. Become confident that you can actually program in Rust.

3. Then think about writing Rust that uses a database. I started out with that by trying out the examples in the rust-postgres documentation, see link above.

Sorry I can advise about diesel but I'm sure the same approach would work well there.

1 Like

Thank you again ZigCog. I will start from book like you suggest. I like to learn from useful examples but I think Rust is just too complicated to start like that. BTW. can you just tell me how to put variable in the previous example?

As I said. I cannot comment on using Diesel as I have never used it.