Borrowing from a mutable reference

Hello, I am a Rust newbie and have a question on how mutable references are borrowed. Following is a sample code to illustrate the question.

Case 1:

fn main() {
    let mut x = String::from("hello");
    let y = &mut x;
    let z = y;
    // append(y);
    println!("{}", y)
}

fn append(p0: &mut String) {
    p0.push_str(" world");
}

The above correctly fails saying that 'y' has been moved to 'z', and no longer valid.

Case 2:

However, if I comment out:
let z = y;
and uncomment:
// append(y);

'y' is still valid, after append() returns. Why was 'y' not moved when append() was invoked ?

Is it because the mutable reference 'y' was copied while calling append(), and the borrow checker could verify that only one mutable reference was active ?

Why was it moved in Case 1, but copied in Case 2 ?

Thank you.

As a convenience, y is automatically reborrowed when you pass it to a function, as if you had written:

append(&mut *y);

The reborrow creates a new mutable reference, containing the same address but with a shorter lifetime, to be passed to the function. It is exactly a copy in the compiled machine code, but it is not a copy to the borrow checker because the lifetime changed.

You cannot use y while the reborrow exists, but y itself hasn't been moved away. (These are the same rules which apply to borrowing an owned value.)

3 Likes

So, I guess one should see (a) passing a reference to a function, as tad different from (b) assiging a reference to another variable.

The above is also corroborated out by the fact that
(a) assignment of immutable references are 'copy' (Copy trait implemented on &T), while
(b) assignment of mutable references are 'move' (Copy trait not implemented on &mut T), for most types 'T'.

Thanks.