Best practices using Tokio spawn in library crate

I'm fairly new to rust and I can't find any documentation that lists the best practices when it comes to consuming Tokio inside a library crate.

I have a library crate that uses Tokio internally and needs to spawn tasks. Now,

1. Is the crate supposed to be given an instance of a Tokio runtime when called?
  2. If so, how do you check that it has been configured properly for your needs?
  3. If not, how do you deal with a custom executor as part of the crate? (i.e. making sure it doesn't conflict with something else)
  4. What happens when other executors are involved, says the final binary uses futures::executor or async-std?
  5. When using future abstractions and exposing future traits as part of my API, does it matter which crate these are coming from? (e.g. I see a lot of things prefer futures::Stream over tokio::stream::Stream)
  6. Is there anything that helps abstracting the above and understood by most framework? (e.g. traits like futures::task::Spawn)
  7. Does it my crate API need to be async if I don't have an internal runtime?

The Tokio runtime has what is known as a context, i.e. any code running on the Tokio runtime (i.e. inside a tokio::spawn call) can access the runtime via a thread-local variable. This is what happens when you call the tokio::spawn method.

Typically you just call tokio::spawn, which panics if no Tokio runtime is present.

If you call tokio::spawn, your crate will only work if the caller uses Tokio. The alternatives involve creating a custom executor trait, allowing the user to give you an object with a spawn function. The other alternative is to return the future object and ask the caller to spawn it.

There is only one Stream and one Future trait, but the AsyncRead/AsyncWrite traits are different in futures vs tokio. There are conversion utilities in tokio-util::compat between the IO traits.