[Beginner] - Struct Logic for Card Game

Hello,

I am fairly new to programming but have found Rust to be a great teacher of programming concepts. as a way of gaining familiarity with Rust I am programming the simple logic behind a deck of cards. Before even moving to the methods that will be programmed and the logic to the game, I would like to start by structuring the data.

So far I have the concept of a card. It will have a number to represent value, a suit to represent the type of card, and a boolean value. To be honest i'm not sure exactly what data type to assign to 'Number' or the 'Suit.'

struct Card {
Number: () , // Will be values [2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,J,Q,K,A]
Suit: () , // Will be values [Hearts, Diamonds, Clubs, Spades]
InDeck: bool, // Used to indicate if the card has already been drawn from the deck.
}

Now my questions are:

1. What datatype is best fitting for the 'Number' and 'Suit' for this struct?

2. In Rust how would I store all 52 cards in a 'Deck' so to speak?

I would choose String for the number and an enum consists of four variants, which are the four suits, for suit.

Something like this:

enum Suit {
    Heart,
    Diamond,
    Club,
    Spade,
}

And for the 'deck', I may choose a vector, which can store a bunch of items of the same type

Why not an enum for the number? You could also derive Ord and get the ordering of the numbers for free:

#[derive(PartialEq,Eq,PartialOrd,Order)]
enum Number{
  Value(u8),
  J,QK,A,
}

(You could also replace Value(u8) with the concrete possibilities: Two,Three,Four,...).

I would not have a field InDeck as part of the card, but rather a struct Deck that contains a Vec<Card> field (or if each card can only exist once in the deck maybe a HashMap).

3 Likes

Okay this makes some sense. Now I have to restructure my Struct. So how would I associate my Struct fields with an enum?

Thanks for pointing out that, your answer is much better.