Are there any particular reasons for Rust having to maintain backwards compatibility and not deprecating STD APIs?

I just started learning Rust and don't know much about it. I did some looking up and the reasons I found is so that old rust code and be compiled with newer compiler versions, and to not have issues or inconveniences with breaking changes, perhaps like other languages do.

1 Like

The software industry has learnt that breaking changes between versions of programming languages cause a lot of churn, therefore avoiding breaking changes is not only desired but mandatory if you want to attract the type of programmers / companies that require such level of stability.

6 Likes

Yep, that's about it.

If a language wants to be adopted and used in the mainstream, it's incredibly important that they commit to backwards compatibility.

Code can survive a surprisingly long time. For example, there are some banks which still use COBOL programs from the 80s, and it's pretty common in established companies to have a C++ codebase that is multiple decades old. In a previous job, I worked on a Delphi Pascal codebase that was about 30 years old. Often, these legacy projects are critical to the business, but are hard to change because of accumulated technical debt and a lack of automated tests.

In projects this old and/or large, removing parts of the standard library forces companies to either 1) expend a lot of engineering effort to update their code to the newest APIs, or 2) pin themselves to an older version of the language and stagnate.

Neither of those options are ideal, so they go with option 3) use a programming language that is committed to backwards compatibility.

6 Likes

For an old post about this, see Stability as a Deliverable | Rust Blog