Any dynamic storage allocator(s) written in Rust?

Hey everyone,

I'm quite new to Rust (2 chapters in the Book) so I apologize in advance for the potential Captain Obvious in the room, and also for asking in the wrong place if this is not the right one.

I'm thinking about writing a malloc() replacement--and upgrade--in Rust as part of my PhD in CS. Do you have any related existing projects in mind?* Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
X

* Edit: it is also possible that writing a Rusty malloc() is by definition a bad idea. But given Rust's systems nature and so much loved performance/safety features, I'd bet against that possibility. Right?

Hey, this is a great time to write allocators in Rust! One of the historical stumbling blocks for writing pure-rust allocators was that thread-locals were slow in Rust (due to the need of lazy init and destructors).

There's recent progress on fast thread-locals:

That's still nightly-only, but looks like something stabilizable.

I think the most feature-full existing Rust allocator is elfmalloc: https://github.com/ezrosent/allocators-rs/tree/master/elfmalloc. I'd love to see a direct port of GitHub - microsoft/mimalloc: mimalloc is a compact general purpose allocator with excellent performance. to Rust and, with fast thread-locals, that should be feasible I think.

2 Likes

See also https://github.com/rust-lang/wg-allocators

Well, that's (in-a-good-sense) much more info than what I was hoping to mine. Thank you sir!

1 Like

Other allocator-like things: bumpalo - Rust, slab - Rust, heapless - Rust

I am working on a memory profiler for Python written in Rust, (Redirecting…), which has some similarities to a memory allocator (I override malloc()/free()/etc.). One relevant lesson, as mentioned above, is that Rust's thread-locals aren't good enough, I'm doing LTO with C thread locals for now until the newer stuff is stable.

Redox OS's system allocator is written in Rust: