Announcing rexiv2 library for image metadata + request for code review

Hello Rustaceans!

(Note: I’ve crossposted this on the subreddit because I’m not sure where discussions like this are happening/should happen. If people feel this is spammy I’ll gladly delete one or the other post)

I’m fairly new to Rust, so to help me learn the language I decided to build some photography workflow tools for myself in the language. The first thing I needed was a library to enable read/write access to the metadata stored in media files (Exif, XMP, and IPTC).

rexiv2 is my library for doing this. It’s a Rust wrapper around the gexiv2 library, which is itself a GObject-based wrapper around the Exiv2 library, which provides what we need. This is the same metadata library used by Gimp and Shotwell. I’ve just pushed to GitHub a version 0.1.0-pre unstable preview that I believe provides all of the necessary basic functionality, albeit in a potentially un-ergonomic, un-Rust-like, rough kind of way.

Links: source, docs, crates.io.

Seeing as how I’m very new to the language, I’d really appreciate feedback/suggestions on anything and everything: coding style, API conventions, wasteful or inefficient copies/allocations that I’m doing, potential FFI mistakes… everything!

I also have some specific questions:

1. How should one pass an array of strings to a C FFI function? You can see how I received one in the get_tag_multiple_strings method, but I’m not sure how to do the inverse in set_tag_multiple_strings.

2. What should APIs return, String or &str? I think I grasp the distinction, and I see why it makes sense to consume &strs, but is it possible to do the same thing with what you return? I ran into problems with lifetimes.

3. Are the stability attributes used in the core language/standard library meant for use by libraries like this as well? Should I be tagging things unstable? Is that worthwhile given the version number?