After a week with Rust

After a week with Rust, I find that I keep referring back to chapter 4(Understanding Ownership) in the book(The Rust Programming Language). I thought the concepts were simple and odd but I neglected to understand the implications for data structures that ventured beyond the simple.

I think this small chapter holds the first keys to understanding simple Rust programs and I rushed right past it to write programs.

Is this a normal trend for a Rust rookie? Rushing right past the keys to the Rust language?

Note: I have a rudimentary background in OCaml so expression based languages and pattern matching are not sticking points and I have some experience(many years ago) in C and C++(more C than C++) so pointers are no problem.

1 Like

I'd say this is fairly common. Usually most languages are very similar to each other and most concepts transfer to the point were you can often jump right in. However in Rust ownership, borrowing, aliasing & mutation and co. are so fundamental that you can't do even basic things without understanding them. This is why I'm heavily recommending reading the book before getting into Rust to everyone I meet that wants to learn it.

4 Likes

I feel your pain.... am in a similar position and would even say that I know C/C++ (not a super experienced developer, but I feel I know a bit), but Rust is giving me a hard time here. Yesterday I was close to decide to stick with C/C++. But will continue trying :).

You'll often hear this referred to as "fighting the borrow-checker". Rust forces you to be a bit more disciplined in the way memory is owned and managed so it can prove at compile time that your program is correct (in regards to memory usage and ownership anyway).

If I may, here are a couple tips: