Adoption without traditional/formal standard

This is kind of a continuation of this post:
https://users.rust-lang.org/t/specification-standardization-and-independent-implementations/32764

I currently work in the embedded space and raised the topic of potentially adopting Rust.

A colleague of mine sent me this blog post (see the "The Rust Programming Language" section).

Not knowing much about traditional/formal programming language standards and knowing very little about Rust in general, my question is:

Is the author's (of the blog post) hesitancy to adopt Rust well-founded, or does Rust not apply (as the original forum post seems to be implying)?

In other words: how does one convince the old guard to adopt Rust (when appropriate) without formal/traditional standards (e.g. ANSI C)?

I have zero knowledge on the railroad industry. But the Python, one of the most popular language used by the IT industry, does not have any formal specifications. Can you describe more about the employers you consider?

You have to keep in mind that in the embedded world, it's the total opposite of "move fast and break things". It's very much "move slow and don't break anything", mainly because it's often difficult to update/patch deployed embedded firmware.

It's not so much a question of the standard on its own, but how (in the C case) the standard aims to (among other things) prevent compiler incompatibility.

The employers are not the focus of my question.
I'm just asking in general how the Rust community should convince the old guard to adopt something better.

There are efforts to bring about a Rust specification : Ferrocene

It seems to me, from what I've heard, having a language specification is more about reassuring the insurers and lawyers than actually having quality guarantees.

2 Likes

Thanks, that Ferrocene link looks like a good read.