Yanking a crate to downgrade version number

Hi,

What's the meaning of yanking a crate?

Asking because I thought my crate was ready for 1.0 and so I did. Now I'm adding a feature that will slightly break the API... can/should I yank 1.0 to go back to 0.x.y series or just push 2.0 series out?

Mainly to force new users of the crate to pull in the newer version - for example, if the previous version was vulnerable.

Just push 2.0. If someone don't need this feature, they could stay on 1.0.

2 Likes

Thank you for your advice and explanations :slight_smile: