Yaml parser iteration

Hi,

I am totally new to Rust, this is the first time I am actually trying to achieve something with it even though I 've read some bit there and there. I know at some time I will have to dive into the book but I would like to solve this simple problem first.

My use case is simple: I would like to parse a YAML file and update a specific field value.

I am using the yaml_rust crate for that purpose. So far I was able to parse the content, turn it into a LinkedHashMap<yaml_rust::Yaml>.

Now I am wondering what would be an efficient way to iterate over this collection to update the field value I am looking for (this is a 3rd level deep nested field) ? I am mainly wondering two things:

1. Am I using this crate the way it's supposed to be ?
  2. How can I iterate over nested fields ?

This is where I am so far (sorry if that looks quite ugly):

extern crate yaml_rust;
use yaml_rust::{YamlLoader};

use std::fs::File;
use std::io::prelude::*;

fn main() {
    let mut f = File::open("./template.yaml").expect("Error while opening file");
    let mut contents = String::new();
    f.read_to_string(&mut contents).expect("Something went wrong while reading the file");

let docs =  YamlLoader::load_from_str(&mut contents).unwrap();
    let doc = docs[0].as_hash().unwrap();
    let iter = doc.iter();

for item in iter {
        println!("{:?}", &item);
    }
}

Regards,
O

(Small note: std::fs::read_to_string is a nice replacement for you first three lines.)

To iterate over nested fields, since the map can contain any type of values, you need to match or use the as_* methods on every level. It seems like there are no mutable versions of the latter, so if you need mutable iterators you have to use matching:

match item {
    Yaml::Hash(ref mut map) => { // iterate and/or modify the map
    }
}

Thank you for your reply, indeed std::fs::read_to_string was a nice replacement :slight_smile: