Writing a function returning an iterator on either a single value, or a list of such

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to Rust, and I'm currently stuck on something that does not seem complicated, but for which I haven't found any viable solution yet.

I have a type, which defines either a single element, or a range, i.e. something like:

enum ListElement {
    Single(u64),
    Range(u64, u64),
} 

and a list of such elements. I would like to create a function which expands this list and applies a function on each element of this expanded list, but using Iterators only (I don't want to create a vector since data I'm dealing with are very huge!).

Here is a code similar to my problem.

enum ListElement {
    Single(u64),
    Range(u64, u64),
} 

use ListElement::*;

fn iter_elements(elements: &[ListElement]) -> impl Iterator<Item=u64> {
    elements
        .iter()
        .map(|element| {
            match element {
                Single(val) => std::iter::once(*val*10),
                Range(start, end) => (*start..=*end).map(|i| i*10)
            }
        })
}

fn main() {

let v = vec![Single(0), Range(2, 5), Single(10), Range(42, 45)];

let expanded: Vec<u64> = iter_elements(&v).collect();

assert_eq!(expanded, vec![0, 20, 30, 40, 50, 100, 420, 430, 440, 450])
}

Playground here

And of course, it does not compile, telling me:

error[E0308]: `match` arms have incompatible types
  --> src/main.rs:15:38
   |
13 | /             match element {
14 | |                 Single(val) => std::iter::once(*val*10),
   | |                                ------------------------ this is found to be of type `std::iter::Once<u64>`
15 | |                 Range(start, end) => (*start..=*end).map(|i| i*10)
   | |                                      ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ expected struct `std::iter::Once`, found struct `Map`
16 | |             }
   | |_____________- `match` arms have incompatible types
   |
   = note: expected type `std::iter::Once<u64>`