Write a string to file doing O_EXCL

Hi,

I want to write a string to a file and it should use create_new for making sure there's no process race condition.

And I'm new to Rust, and I don't understand whether write_all exists or not. Has anyone time to help me here?

This is how far I came:

use std::fs::OpenOptions;
use std::fs::File;

fn tofile(
	path: String,
	value: String)
{
	let file = OpenOptions::new().write(true).create_new(true).open(path);	
	file.write_all(value.as_bytes());
}

fn main()
{
	tofile( "test.txt".to_string(),
		"blubb".to_string());
}

write_all is a member of the std::io::Write trait: Write in std::io - Rust

That means, in order to call it, you must use std::io::Write. Alternatively, you could do what the example does and require the std::io prelude, use std::io::prelude::*;, which would bring Write and several other useful traits into scope.

Thanks!

I've included all the use lines without success. My problem seems to be that OpenOptions::new().write(true).create_new(true).open(path); returns a type
that has the file handle and the error included. And I was - sorry for this - too sedentary to figure this out.

If you had by chance a link or a minimum example of an asignment with the right side being std::result::Result<std::fs::File, std::io::Error>?

But I clearly need to learn myself the syntax at first, reading the books.

You can express your tofile function like so:

use std::io::prelude::*;

fn tofile(path: String, value: String)
{
OpenOptions::new()
            .write(true)
            .create_new(true)
            .open(path)
            .and_then(|mut f| f.write_all(value.as_bytes()))
            .expect("Failed")
}

You'd want to report a failure (i.e. error) in real code, most likely, rather than panic like the above (via the expect call).

In your original code, to get the File, you'd just chain an unwrap call, like so:

let mut file = OpenOptions::new().write(true).create_new(true).open(path).unwrap();
1 Like