Working with Rust-analyzer for unlinked files

Hello, I'm a relatively new programmer trying to learn Rust, and I can't seem to understand one feature of the rust-analyzer.

According to the RA documentation, unlinked files will not have IDE features available.

That means I don't have features, such as intellisense and autocomplete, to help me while writing code in an unlinked file. (I’m using VSCode)

I can see why the file linking helps with the overall writing of software, as that means the hints and autocompletions will be more comprehensive thanks to RA's understanding of the overall code structure.

In that case, how do experienced programmers or Rust developers go about planning and writing Rust code? For example, do you figure out the entire code structure first, do the necessary file linking, then get down to work?

It's much more incremental than that. When I find a want a new module, I either

• If it's a module for new code, I write mod child; in the parent module, then run the "create module" assist on that item to create the appropriate file.
  • If it's a module for existing code, I use the "extract module" assist. (Sometimes, anyway. I forget it exists and do the former plus copy paste a lot.)
1 Like

Even if r-a supported as much of its functionality as possible in unlinked files, it still wouldn't be possible to check that the code would really compile if it was in the module tree, because the compiler analyzes the whole crate at once. And that limits how much value could be added here, because: