Working with powershell ise

hi, I installed rust in windows by following “the book”. but when i try to compile the hello world program it shows

PS C:\Users\Katsukage> fn main.exe() {
println!(“Hello, world!”);
}
At line:1 char:13

• fn main.exe() {
  • ~
    An expression was expected after ‘(’.
  • CategoryInfo : ParserError: (:slight_smile: [], ParentContainsErrorRecordException
  • FullyQualifiedErrorId : ExpectedExpression

I have basic knowledge of c and c++ only. what am i doing wrong?
im using windows 10, in powershell ISE
i also checked the path as mentioned above it is correct.
also installed vc++ , followed the default installation options.

Powershell ISE only supports the language Powershell. (At least, as far as I am aware - are you able to run C and C++ code directly in Powershell?).

A more typical workflow for C, C++, and Rust is to use a general-purpose editor to create source files, then use a command line (possibly Powershell) to run the compiler and the executable.

Note that Powershell ISE is not a general-purpose editor. It only allows you to create Powershell .ps1 files.

It may be worth reading the page at http://www.jonathanturner.org/2017/03/rust-in-windows.html to get you started.

Yes, @jongiddy is correct. I use PowerShell for my day-to-day Rust development, but use Visual Studio: Code to edit the text, and run cargo build inside of PS directly.

.ps1 files are PowerShell specific files, not Rust files!

so im extremely confused right now. I have installed rust,vc++ and visual rust. where do i write the hello world code?? also when i try double clicking the rust,rustc,cargo… application files nothing seems to happen. what am i doing wrong?

Can you type rustc at the powershell prompt, does it find rustc? if so, you can type: rustc myfile.rs and it will compile and run this specific file. Beyond that, you really want to work within a project. Start here

NOTE: Powershell ISE is different than Powershell, don’t use ISE for this purpose.