Workflow for library development and testing

Hi everyone :wave:

I am new to Rust and it is my first low level language (which I believe a part of my issue stems from). I am currently working on a simple library that parses some JSON files into SQLite and then performs some data analysis on it.

My question is a very general one: How can I learn to write tests and how should the general workflow be when developing a library? Most of my work happens in lib.rs and right now I am using main.rs to call some functions on example files, but I basically get by using .unwrap() and not writing any tests (which are both bad practice to my understanding).
I read the book section about TDD, but I find it hard to apply practically. Are there any resources out there where I can learn how to adapt a better workflow for developing a library? Are there some general tips or guidelines I should follow?

Well, testing in Rust is not very different from any other language. You write unit tests and mark them as such with the #[test] attribute. You write integration tests in the tests folder typically. You run them with cargo test.
The task you have at hand is actually perfectly testable - the output for a given input JSON file is deterministic, so all you have to do is to put them in raw string literals, pass the input through your functions, and compare and assert on the output.

So what is your actual problem:

• Are you having a hard time coming up with tests, in general?
  • Or are you having a hard time utilizing Rust's test framework since you are used to some other language? (it might help to mention which language you are comfortable in)
  • Or is it something else that I completely missed?

Thanks for the response.

Are you having a hard time coming up with tests, in general?