Workaround for: cannot borrow `*self` as mutable more than once at a time

I am new to Rust. The pattern I am trying to implement is to invoke multiple methods on an object, what in other languages would typically be expressed as:

let obj = ....
   obj.call1();
   obj.call2();

whereby call1 and call2 both take a &mut self as their first argument.

However, I receive the error:

error[E0499]: cannot borrow `*self` as mutable more than once at a time

I don’t understand whether this error indicates a true problem in my code or a limitation of the compiler. Most online sources related to this error point to the unimplemented NLL feature, however, none I’ve found discusses work-arounds. (This includes the 4 posts in this forum with a similar title.)

Either way, not only do I not understand this message, but I haven’t been able to find a work-around of any kind… so my question is: how do I invoke multiple methods (in sequence) that mutate an object; or conversely, why is it unsafe/illegal to invoke multiple methods that mutably borrow self in sequence?

My code is below, with unessential details elided:

enum AllocErr { Bad }

struct SizeClass { sz: usize }

struct Allocator {
    classes : [SizeClass; 3]
}

impl Allocator {
    // create an allocator with 3 size classes
    pub fn new() -> Allocator {
        return Allocator { 
            classes : [
                SizeClass { sz: 8}, SizeClass { sz: 16}, SizeClass { sz: 32}
            ]
        }
    }

fn find_size_class(&mut self, sz: usize) -> Result<&mut SizeClass, AllocErr> {
        match self.classes.iter_mut().find(|clazz| { clazz.sz > sz }) {
            Some(clazz) => Ok(clazz),
            None => Err(AllocErr::Bad)
        }
    }

fn _do_allocate(&mut self, _clazz: &mut SizeClass, _sz: usize) {
    }

fn alloc(&mut self, sz: usize) -> Result<bool, AllocErr> {
        let clazz = self.find_size_class(sz)?;  // step 1: find size class
        self._do_allocate(clazz, sz);  // step 2: allocate