Why we can `impl` enums?

I am new to rust, so this question is just to help me understand to logic behind this, why can we implement functions to enums and make them store data??

how does an enum is different from a struct?, from what I see, the only difference is that enums allows us to group multiple "structs" under the same name

enum Message {
    Write(String)
}

impl Message {
    fn to_screen(&self) {
        match &self {
        }
    }
}

fn main () {
    let my_message = Message::Write(String::from("Hello world"));
    my_message.to_screen();
}

and here is the same implementation but with structs

struct Message{
    text: String
}

impl Message {
    fn to_screen(&self) {
        println!("{}", self.text);
    }
}

fn main() {
    let my_message = Message{ text: String::from("Hello world") };
    my_message.to_screen();
}

Wrong question. ADTs existed since 1960th. Grandfather of all high-level languages ALGOL already had them more than half-century ago.

More interesting question is: how come today, in year 2023, these are not “ubiquition, present in all languages that people use”, but more of “strange constructs only present in some languages eggheads are using”.

The difference is that you may carry different values in different variants of enums.

This need is incredibly common. In particular the need to either have a value and don't have a value (Option in Rust-speak) or have something or error info (Result in Rust-speak) is literally something you find every ten lines or more often in Rust program.

You may consider struct a reduced version of enum with only one variant and simplified syntax.

3 Likes

In more simple terms a Struct is only one thing. But a enum can be any one of a number of things at different times.

For example:

enum Animal {
        Cat,
        Dog,
        Hamster,
    }

As the Rust book says: