Why thread::sleep Cause Low CPU and Memory Usage Than Without thread::sleep

hi, i'm new to rust and i run this code and curious what happen behind it.

use std::{thread, time, mem};

fn main ()
{
    let n: u32 = 100_000;
    let mut sample: Vec<String> = Vec::new();
    loop 
    {
        thread::sleep(time::Duration::from_secs(1));
        // let mut sample: Vec<String> = Vec::new();
        let mut i: u32 = 0;
        while i < n 
        {
            sample.push(String::from("apm"));
            i += 1;
        }

let sample_len = sample.len();
        let sample_size = mem::size_of_val(&sample);
        println!("{} -> {}", sample_len, sample_size);
    }
}

when i remove or comment line thread::sleep(time::Duration::from_secs(1)); the cpu and memory usage get increase significantly. if i use thread::sleep cpu about <=0.6% and memory <=0.8MB but if i remove or comment that line the cpu is <30% and memory <=25MB on my windows task manager. why and what happen there behind ?

btw, i run it with command cargo single build --release test_memory.rs, copy the single exe file and run test_memory.exe from same folder with file test_memory.rs (not in target/release folder).

thanks before.

thread::sleep stops the execution on the current thread for the specified duration (1 second in this case). After that time lapses, it will continue the computation, so it will do the addition from your while loop.

thanks for reply, but i still don't understand the different about memory and cpu when using thread::sleep and without thread::sleep are huge.

what happen behind scene ?

here my guess, correct if i wrong.

if use thread::sleep the execution will have "spare" do freeing memory (variable sample) because
main thread is sleep. but if i don't use thread::sleep the execution will no have "spare" to free memory
so it will do freeing memory while execute the next instruction, in this case create inner loop again.

is my guess above correct ?

thanks before.